My Daughter Is Not a Kardashian!

Saw an article in my Google reader this week discussing one of the members of the Kardashian family and whether or not she had pulled off the short-shorts look this summer.

Just seeing the headline brought to mind a rant I’ve had for a long time when it comes to picking out clothes for my daughter.

Simply put, there is a huge difference between the quality and the implied message of clothing for girls and clothing for boys.  While boys’ clothes have things like reinforced knees (because clearly girls don’t crawl, run around or fall down), pockets and adjustable waists, girl’s clothes apparently are made to subliminally send the message there is only one acceptable size and body-type.   Apparently, if you’re a girl, you don’t need a drawstring in the waistband (there’s a bow included, but it’s decoration only!)  and you clearly don’t ever carry anything in your pockets since they too are only on there for decorations.

Oh, and the only styles of shorts available are short-shorts that will barely cover your diaper.

Lest you think I was shopping at some crazy, hip, young store, let me tell you that was not the case.  The store, in particular, was Carter’s, a company that I figured might be a safe haven for allowing us to pick our clothes that didn’t make my daughter look like a Kardashian.

I don’t want to single out one store or brand. I’ve noticed this across multiple stores and brands that are aimed at children.

As a father, this is just distressing.  Shortcake isn’t even a year-and-a-half-old and we’re already sending her messages about what the “ideal” type of body is.  I don’t want her to dress like someone who voyaged to the new world on the Mayflower, mind you.  I just want her to have clothes that are comfortable, well-made and allow for some sense of modesty.

I want her to grow up to be a woman, not a Kardashian.

Is that asking too much?

Leave a Reply

